Editorial Policies

Focus and Scope

Studies in Political Economy is an interdisciplinary journal committed to the publication of original work in the various traditions of socialist political economy. Researchers and analysts within these traditions seek to understand how political, economic and cultural processes and struggles interact to shape and reshape the conditions of people's lives. Established in 1979, SPE has, as a Political Economy Journal, become a major forum for people who identify with the struggles to overcome exploitation, exclusion and oppression in Canada and abroad. SPE is especially interested in work by, for and about Canadians, but it aims to be an international Political Economy journal. It welcomes contributions in every field of political economy and within all the traditions of socialist scholarship, including those which question established paradigms. Those who pursue progressive work within different frameworks will find SPE a venue for communicating with a wide and diversified audience. In addition to articles, Studies in Political Economy publishes interviews, short essays on contemporary political issues, review essays and comments on articles it has published


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Forum: American Empire or Empire of Global Capitalism

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Forum: Regulating Care

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Peer Review Process

Manuscripts may be submitted to Studies in Political Economy in English or French, with a maximum length of 7,500 words. Submissions should be free of sexist or racist language and written in an accessible style. Please see below for further information about submitting an article. SPE is a refereed journal. Manuscripts are reviewed by at least two assesors. One is independent of the journal and other is a Board member who is not a member of the Executive. The review process is open and both authors and reviewers are encouraged to disclose their names, although this is not required. Reviewers are asked to judge a manuscript on its scholarly merit, its congruence with SPE editorial policy, its political importance, topicality, breadth of appeal and literary quality/entertainment value. They are asked to recommend whether a submission: Should be accepted for publication without qualification (i.e. as is); Should be accepted subject to the author making specified revisions; Should be revised and resubmitted before any commitment to publish is given; Should be rejected. Reviews are circulated to all board members with the final decision made by the Executive Committee. Authors are encouraged to take suggestions for revision seriously and must be prepared to follow the instructions for revision provided by the editorial committee in cases where a submission receives qualified acceptance. In cases where an author is invited to revise and resubmit the manuscript, it must again go through the review process. Please be advised that the initial review process takes at least three months and normally takes six months.


Publication Frequency

Twice a year



This journal utilizes the LOCKSS system to create a distributed archiving system among participating libraries and permits those libraries to create permanent archives of the journal for purposes of preservation and restoration. More...


Editorial Executive Board

•Laurie Adkin (Dept. of Political Science-University of Alberta), •Greg Albo (Dept. of Political Science-York University), •Peter Andrée (Dept. of Political Science-Carleton University), •Feyzi Baban (Dept. of Political Studies-Trent University), •Andrew Biro (Dept. of Politics-Acadia Univeristy), •Adelle Blackett (Faculty of Law-McGill University), •Susan Braedley (School of Social Work-Carleton University), •Enda Brophy (School of Communication-Simon Fraser University), •Aziz Choudry (Faculty of Education-McGill University), •Thomas Collombat (Dept. of Social Sciences-Université du Québec en Outaouais), •Annette Desmarais (International Studies Program-University of Manitoba), •Alexandra Dobrowolsky (Dept. of Political Science-Saint Mary's University), •Gavin Fridell (International Development Studies-Saint Mary's University), •Kanishka Goonewardena (Dept. of Geography-University of Toronto), •Peter Graefe (Dept. of Political Science-McMaster University), •Andrew Jackson (Canadian Labour Congress), •Ken Kawashima (Dept. of  East Asian Studies-University of Toronto),  •Paul Leduc Browne (Département de Travail Social et des Sciences Sociales-Université du Quebec en Outaouais), •Charmain Levy (Département de Travail Social et des Sciences Sociales-Université du Quebec en Outaouais), •Geoff Mann (Dept. of Geography-Simon Fraser University), •Stephen McBride (Dept. of Political Science-McMaster University), •Wendy McKeen (School of Social Work-York University), •Lisa Mills (School of Public Policy and Administration-Carleton University), •Mojtaba Mahdavi (Middle Eastern and African Studies-University of Alberta), •Justin Paulson (Dept. of Sociology&Anthropology-Carleton University), •Marc-André Pigeon (Credit Union Central of Canada), •Dennis Pilon (Dept. of Political Science-York University), •Stephanie Ross (Labour Studies Programme-York University), •Blair Rutherford (Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology-Carleton University), •Rebecca Schein (Human Rights/Inst. of Interdisciplinary Studies-Carleton University), •Adrian Smith (Dept. of Law and Legal Studies-Carleton University), •Susan Spronk (School of International Development and Global Studies-University of Ottawa), •Jim Stanford (Unifor, Toronto), •Donald Swartz (School of Public Policy and Administration-Carleton University), •Rosemary Warskett (Dept. of Law-Carleton University), •Heather Whiteside (Dept. of Geography-University of British Columbia), •Jill Wigle (Department of Geography and Environmental Studies-Carleton University), •Anna Zalik (Faculty of Environmental Studies-York University)


Advisory Board

Frances Abele, Caroline Andrew, Hugh Armstrong, Pat Armstrong, Manfred Bienefeld, Duncan Cameron, William Carroll, Wallace Clement, Patricia Connelly, Gillian Creese, Simon Dalby, Harriet Friedmann, Christina Gabriel, Roberta Hamilton, Jane Jenson, Roger Keil, Fred Judson, Michael Lebowitz, Colin Leys, John Loxley, Eleanor MacDonald, Laura MacDonald, Fiona MacKenzie, Rianne Mahon, Martha MacDonald, Margie Mendell, Douglas Moggach, Allan Moscovitch, John Myles, Barbara Neis, Leo Panitch, Helene Pellerin, Jane Pulkingham, Liora Salter, John Saul, Mario Seccareccia, Janet Siltanen, Claire Turenne-Sjolander, Henry Veltmeyer, Mel Watkins, David Wolfe.


International Advisory Board

Kate Bedford, Patrick Bond, Barbara Epstein, Alfredo Saad Filho, Adam Hanieh, Colin Hay, Chris Howell, Fuat Keyman, Wendy Larner, Margit Mayer, Philip McMichael, E.Ian Robinson.